Who am I?

Thanks for looking at my site and considering me as a tutor for your child.I’m a 40 something year old mum of one lively 11 year old boy, and a teacher with 20+ years experience in schools, colleges, tutoring and home education. I believe that all children should be given as many opportunities to fulfil their potential as possible in order to achieve a secure and successful future.

Just as not all children are the same, so their ways of learning and cognitive understanding are unique. As such I offer sessions to cater for varied skills & needs. 1:1 sessions are arranged and guided according to the individual’s needs and requirements. Sessions can be specifically to help prepare for exams, or purely for interest and general academic development.

I offer psychology and sociology at KS4 and KS5 levels – age ranges 14 to 18. I also offer undergraduate degree level support in these subjects.

English language and literature are offered from KS2 to A level – age 7 to 18, though language and literature GCSE are each taught in separate sessions. Again, these can be taught according to a syllabus for an exam, or just for interest and academic development.

I am a fully qualified teacher and hold a 2:1 BSc (Hon) degree in applied psychology and sociology (APS) from the University of Surrey, plus my post graduate teaching qualification.  I can provide documents as evidence, and hold a current enhanced CRB police check, all displayed for your reassurance. As well as teaching and private tuition, I have also been an exam marker for all of my subjects.

I look forward to meeting you and your child.

Laura